Watch Ministerial Screening Live

download (2)

By Henry Umoru/ Joseph Erunke

ABUJA- AGAIN, the Senate today dropped the name of former governor of Rivers State and a ministerial nominee, Rotimi Amaechi as one of those to be screened today.

The Senate also refused to receive the report of the Committee on Ethics, Privileges and PubliC Petitions on alleged cases of Fraud against Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi by Integrity Group.

Before the commencement of plenary this morning, the Senate Order Paper which was circulated listed eight names for screening with Amaechi’s name as number 3.

Others on the first Order paper are: Barrister Adebayo Shittu; Heineken Lokpobiri; Khadija Abba Ibrahim; Hon. Bawa Bwari; Ocholi Enojo James; Mansur Muhammed and Zainab S. Ahmed.

Minutes later, a new Order Paper was circulated, this time Amaechi’s name was dropped, just as the consideration of reports on petitions against Amaechi and another Ministerial nominee from Sokoto State, Aisha Mohammed was put on halt.

The new Order Paper listed three names for today’s screening and they are Barrister Adebayo Shittu, Oyo; Claudius Omoleye Daramola, Ondo and Khadija Abba Ibrahim, Yobe.

Meanwhile, the Senators are contributing to a motion sponsored by Senator Foster Ogola, Bayelsa West on the Demise of Governor Diepreye Alamieyeseigha.

The Senate will also probe the planned construction of a runway at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport for N63 billion.

Ministerial Screening: Senate gets 10 petitions against Imo nominee

Also Th Senate Committee on Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions today received ten petitions against the ministerial nominee from Imo state, Professor Anwuka Gozie.

Senator Nneji Achonu, Imo North today, Tuesday submitted 10 petitions against Prof Anwuka Gozie.

Senate President Bukola Saraki, referred the petitions to the Ethics and Public Petitions committee, with a directive to submit its report on Wednesday, but Chairman of the Committee, Senator Samuel Anyanwu considering the number of petitions.

Senate President Saraki agreed that the report be submitted on Thursday.

Meanwhile, the Senate yesterday observed a minute silence for late former governor of Bayelsa State, Diepreye Alamieyeseigha.

The Senate has also resolved that Senate Deputy Majority Whip, Senator Francis Alimikhena, APC, Edo North to lead eight others to Bayelsa State to condole with the family, people and government of the state

Be the first to comment