The Punch: PDP clears Ekiti LG poll, APC withdraws


Kamarudeen Ogundele

The Peoples Democratic Party has cleared all the chairmanship seats for the 16 Local Government Areas and councillorship positions for the 177 wards in Ekiti State.

The Chairman, Ekiti State Independent Electoral Commission, Justice Kayode Bamisile, who spoke after the declaration of results, said 25 SIEC chairmen observed the election.

“There was no case of ballot snatching, violent conduct or hooliganism during the election,” he said.

The state secretary of the SIEC, Mrs. Bolanle Awe, told our correspondent that the commission was prepared for any legal tussle that may arise from the election.

In spite of initial challenges, she said the conduct of the election was largely successful.

A High Court in the state had dismissed a suit filed by the Ekiti All Progressives Congress seeking to stop the election.

The party had alleged that members of the commission were members of the PDP. The APC, which withdrew from the election, also faulted the low turnout it recorded.

The state Publicity Secretary, Taiwo Olatunbosun, in a statement, said the widespread apathy observed across the state was a proof that people of the state had rejected the governor and his party, the PDP.

The APC further said the people behaved honourably by staying away from the election boycotted by all political parties except the PDP.

He added, “To cover their shame in most of the empty polling units, PDP members and Fayose’s political appointees engaged in multiple thumb-printing to give a false impression of a large turn-out of voters.”

Our correspondent sighted only the agents of the PDP in virtually all the 2,195 polling units across 177 wards in the state despite claims by the SIEC that five political parties participated in the election.

Only 16 voters were accredited and voted as of 11.20am on Saturday out of the 626 registered voters at ward 05 unit 016 Oke Iyinmi, while only 20 out of 1,250 registered voters had done same at unit 008 ward 9.

Also at Ajitadundun polling unit 006, ward 9, only 16 voters were accredited out of 1, 471 as of 11.41 am, while 18 out of 1,046 were accredited and voted at unit 17, ward 10 as of 11.49am.

But a moderate turnout was witnessed at Ijigbo Ward 4 unit 007, where 105 voters were confirmed to have been accredited and voted out of the 581 registered voters at about 12pm.

At Agbado/Oyo Ward, Unit 003 of Ikere Ekiti in Ikere Council Area, only 35 were accredited out of 426 registered voters as of 10.10 am, while a total of 32 were accredited at unit 004 out of 405 in the same ward.

At Oke Iruku Ward, unit 005, only 54 out of over 500 were accredited as of 10.30am.

Joint patrol by security agencies ensured that residents complied with the no movement order between 8a.m and 4p.m.

Accreditation and actual voting took place simultaneously against directive by SIEC that accreditation should last till 1p.m before voting would commence.

Reacting, Governor Ayodele Fayose, described the polls as free, fair and credible, while also lauding the voters for turning out massively to cast their votes.

Fayose said, “The information we got was impressive. The turnout was impressive. In some places, the turnout of voters was very impressive, though some people came out late in some areas.’

Be the first to comment