Senate confirms Fashola, Lai Mohammed, others as ministers


The Senate on Wednesday confirmed 18 ministers out of 21 nominees forwarded by President Muhammadu Buhari on September 30.

Earlier on Wednesday, Mr. Buhari withdrew the nomination of a former deputy governor of Niger State, Ahmed Ibeto, while the senate deferred the screening of a former governor of Rivers State, Rotimi Amaechi and Adebayo Shittu of Oyo State to Thursday.

The Senate said it deferred Mr. Amaechi’s screening to allow the Senate Ad-hoc Committee on Ethics submit its reports on the petitions filed against the former governor.

Mr. Shittu’s screening was postponed to enable the senators rest.

At the end of the two-day exercise, the Senate president, Bukola Saraki, called for the confirmation or otherwise of the ministerial nominees who appeared for screening.

Lawmakers unanimously confirmed all nominees except Lai Mohammed, the spokesperson of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Mr. Mohammed was cleared after some “nay” shouts from the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP.

Below is the List of the Ministers-Designate

1.   Udoma Udo Udoma
2.   Kayode Fayemi
3.   Audu Ogbeh
4.   Ogbonnaya Onuh
5.   Dr Osagie Ehenere
6.   Lt. Gen. Abdulrahman Dambazau
7.   Lai Mohammed
8.   Amina Ibrahim Mohammed
9.   Engr Suleiman Adamu
10. Ibrahim Usman Jibrin
11. Babatunde Raji Fashola
12. Emmanuel Ibe Kachukwu
13. Abubakar Malami
14. Dr Chris Ngige
15. Aisha Jummai Alhassan
16. Solomon Dalong
17. Kemi Adeosun
18. Hadi Sirika

Be the first to comment