Popular Nigeria Actress Makes Vogue’s 14 Global Superstars List

Adesua Etomi-Wellington

Leading international fashion Magazine, Vogue featured popular Nigeria actress on its list of 14 global superstars.

Nigerian actress, Adesua Etomi-Wellington has been featured on Vogue’s list of 14 global superstars.

 

 

Vogue

 

The British Vogue was the first international edition launched in 1916, while the Italian version has been called the top fashion magazine in the world.

Adesua was featured in the April issue of the magazine alongside 14 actresses from 14 countries across several film industries including Hollywood, Bollywood and Nollywood.

She announced the feature on her Instagram page @adesuaetomi. She said, “Nigeria to the world. Celebrate brown girl MAGIC.

View this post on Instagram

Nigeria to the world.🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬 Celebrate black girl MAGIC. I'm so thrilled to reveal my cover for @voguemagazine's April issue celebrating this talented group of women from across the globe. Giving a huge shout out to @jilldemling. She cast this cover and this was her last cover at Vogue before her move to @britishvogue. Tons of love Jill. 💜 14 global superstars were chosen: Angelababy (@angelababyct), Doona Bae (@doonabae), #ElizabethDebicki, Golshifteh Farahani (@golfarahani), #LivLisaFries, Eiza Gonzalez (@eizagonzalez), Hera Hilmar (@herahilmar), #ScarlettJohansson, Vanessa Kirby (@vanessa__kirby), Bruna Marquezine (@brunamarquezine), Deepika Padukone (@deepikapadukone), #AlbaRohrwacher and Lea Seydoux (@leaseydoux_genuine). Tap the link in my bio to read the stories and see the full spread. Photographer: Mikael Jansson / @mikaeljansson Stylist: Camilla Nickerson My Makeup: Otito Ibeleme / @t.alamodebeauty Hannah Murray / @hannah_murray1 Hair headpieces: Julien d’Ys for Julien d’Ys / @juliendys Production: North Six and Day International / @northsixproductions and @dayinternational Florals: Michael George / @michaelgeorgeflowers Written by Gaby Wood, Vogue, April 2019.

A post shared by Adesua Etomi-Wellington (@adesuaetomi) on

 

“I’m so thrilled to reveal my cover for @voguemagazine’s April issue celebrating this talented group of women from across the globe.

About Adesua, Vogue wrote, “The Nigerian actress Adesua Etomi-Wellington can’t walk down the street in Lagos without getting mobbed.

“If she’s with her husband, the actor Banky Wellington, forget it—a trip to the grocery store launches a thousand selfies.

“But unlike some of her cohorts on the shoot, she’s more of a third-culture kid, born in Nigeria and raised mainly in England.

“She went to school in Coventry, studied drama at the University of Wolverhampton, and then got a nine-to-five job with the fashion arm of a large supermarket chain. It was then that, as she puts it, “I can’t explain it—I felt I had to go back to Nigeria.”

“In fact, she points out, of the four films that have done best for the relatively young industry, she is in three.

“I love, love, love Nollywood,” Etomi-Wellington says brightly over tea and biscuits at the shoot,” Vogue wrote.

 

 

PropellerAds
Advertisements

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply To Share Your Thought, Its Appreciated

Advertisements