Police Sack Nine Officers, Demote Six Others



The Nigerian Police authorities in Nigeria have sent packing nine senior police officers and demoted six others for different cases of misconduct.

The body responsible for police affairs in Nigeria, Police Service Commission (PSC), also approved the severe punishment for five officers and serious reprimand for another five.

This news medium understands that the commission took these decisions at its fifth plenary meeting.

The meeting, it was learned, held in Abuja on 26 and 27 March, and was presided over by the PSC Chairman Musiliu Smith – a retired Inspector General of Police.

Below is a list of the nine officers dismissed:

SP Abdul Ahmed

SP Adamu Abare

DSP Osondu Christian

DSP Samson Ahmidu

DSP Pius Timiala

ASP Agatha Usman,

ASP Esther Yahaya,

ASP Idris Shehu

Demoted officers:

Oluwatoyin Adesope (from SP to DSP)

Mansir Bako (from SP to DSP)

Gbenle Mathew (DSP to ASP)

Tijani Saifullahi (DSP to ASP)

Sadiq Idris (DSP to ASP)

Alice Abbah (DSP to ASP)

The acting Inspector General of Police (IGP), Mohammed Adamu, was asked by the commission to give detailed information on the punishment awarded to other officers mentioned in the Police Investigation Reports involving SP Abare, with regards to irregularities in the conduct of the 2011 Recruitment Exercise.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply