Election 2019 Result: Dino Melaye Beats APC Rival To Retain Senate Seat

…wins 6 LGAs out of 7

Senator Dino Melaye of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has defeated Smart Adeyemi of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Saturday’s National Assembly election for Kogi West Senatorial District conducted in the state.

Baclad TV News reports that Dino polled a total of 85, 395 votes to defeat Adeyemi, his arch-rival who scored 66, 902 votes.

Kogi West Senatorial District which comprises of seven LGAs namely Lokoja, Mopa Amuro, Kogi/Koton Karfe, Kabba/Bunu, Ijumu, Yagba East, Yagba West saw Dino winning 6 LGAs out of 7.

Below are the final results as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) at the commission’s Collation centre in Lokoja on Sunday night.

Lokoja LGA
PDP = 24576
APC = 18800

Yagba East LGA
PDP = 8638
APC = 5077

Mopa Amuro LGA
PDP = 5112
APC = 3658

PDP 8942
APC 6799

PDP 11,749
APC 8,517

APC 8,971
PDP14, 756

Kogi LGA
APC 15,728
PDP 11,622

Interestingly, Melaye was in the APC in the 2015 elections while Adeyemi was of the PDP. Both swapped parties for the 2019 polls, and in one of the most-competitive elections, Melaye emerged victorious.

Be the first to comment