#BayelsaDecides: Southern Ijaw Votes to Determine Winner


Preliminary results released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) yesterday showed that Governor Seriake Dickson of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is leading in the 6 of the eight Local Government Areas (LGAs).

Presently INEC Collation officer and party agets are awaiting Southern ijaw votes to announce winner of the poll.

This is even as Dickson’s opponent, Chief Timipre Sylva of the APC alleged rigging. Bayelsa has eight LGAs. The poll was held last Saturday.

The rescheduled election was to hold in Southern Ijaw Local Government Area but a shoot-out between security agents and ex-militants stopped the exercise as voters scampered for their safety.

Also, Governor Dickson, had in a broadcast yesterday urged Bayelsians to resist any alleged rigging plot by the APC even as he raised a commission of enquiry to probe the atrocities perpetrated by government officials.

Meanwhile, the Sylva-Igiri Campaign Organisation has accused Governor Dickson of violating electoral laws by visiting Southern Ijaw Local Government Area to protest against the rescheduled election.

As seen of Sun Newspaper, the results collated so far;

1. Yenagua 24,256. 14,563
2. Kolokuma 7,619 6,896
3. Sagbamu 28,934 5,382
4. Brass 6,516 21,755
5. Ekeremor 14,602 7,918

Full Report HERE

Be the first to comment