APC Senators defy party, nominate Ali Ndume as Majority leader


All Progressives Congress senators have nominated Ali Ndume as the Majority Leader of the Senate, in defiance of the party’s directive that Ahmed Lawan be given the role.

Mr. Lawan lost the senate presidency election to Bukola Saraki, despite being the party’s official candidate.

The party insists its preferred candidates who failed to be elected president and speaker for the Senate and House of Representatives respectively, be elected Majority Leaders in both chambers.

The crisis has stalled legislative business in both arms of the National Assembly for weeks.

The Senate on Thursday officially nominated Mr. Ndume, from Borno State, as Majority Leader.

It also nominated Bala Ibn Na’alla as deputy leader. Mr. Na’alla, a former House of Representatives member, is from Kebbi state.

The Senate also nominated Francis Alimikhena, from Edo State, as Deputy Chief Whip.

The nominations are subject to approval.

More details coming.

Be the first to comment