AFCON 2019: Groups and Fixtures

The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations has dished up some tasty clashes. Here’s how the draw shapes up for the continental showpiece.


The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations promises some mouthwatering clashes when it kicks off in Egypt later this year. The action will kick off on 21 June with the final scheduled to be played on 19 July.

The tournament will be played at six venues across Egypt with three in Cairo and one each in Alexandria, Ismailia and Suez.

Egypt, winner of the competition a record seven times, were grouped with the Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda and Zimbabwe at a spectacular draw ceremony held in Giza on Friday.

Group F in the 24-team tournament brought together the second and third most successful sides in its history.

Cameroon, who won their fifth continental crown last time and were originally set to host the competition, will face four-time winners Ghana.

Africa Cup of Nations 2019: Groups and teams

Group A

Egypt (hosts), Democratic Republic of Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe

Group B

Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi

Group C

Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania

Group D

Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia

Group E

Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola

Group F

Cameroon (holders), Ghana, Benin, Guinea-Bissau

Afcon 2019: How teams progress from groups

The top two finishers in each group and four best third-place teams qualify for second round.

Be the first to comment